President: John A. Youngquist, P.E.

Professional Experience: Ray-O-Vac Corporation; Technical Manager, Quality Control Manager, and Assistant Plant Manager (1967-1975). Research Project Manager, USDA Forest Service, Forest Products Laboratory, 1975-1999.

Synopsis: Well-known for pioneering research in the processing of wood-based composite products. Owns a consulting business focused on the broad area of engineering, natural resources, and grant writing, with an emphasis on scientific report writing and grant and proposal writing for private companies, non-profit organizations, and state and federal government agencies. Has taught scientific writing for students and professors whose first language is not English. Experienced in writing quality control and production specifications.

Grant Activities:
Publications:  120+ scientific and non-technical. Patents: Six

Awards:  USDA Superior Service Awards, 1982, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2001; Outstanding Federal Supervisor of the Year, 1991; USDA Forest Service Engineering Manager of the Year, 1993; USDA Forest Service Chief’s Award for Technology Transfer, 1999. Certificates of Merit, Forest Products Laboratory, 1985 through 1997. Distinguished Service Award—International Union of Forestry Research Organizations (IUFRO), 2004.

Education:  B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Professional Engineering Registration, Wisconsin.
Law, 40 semester hours, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Business Management, 20 semester hours, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Statistics & Advanced calculus, 20 semester hours, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey 

Appointed: Editorial Boards of Journal of Tropical Forest Science (1992-1995), Journal of Tropical Forest Products (1995 and continuing), Drvna Industrija Journal (1994 and continuing), CAB Abstracts (1997-2000).

Professional Associations: Deputy Coordinator and Coordinator of IUFRO Division 5 on Forest Products; IUFRO Board of Directors (1990-2000); IUFRO Chair of Honors and Awards Committee (1997-2000), IUFRO Chair of Finance Committee (1997-2000); Vice President, President-elect and President of the Forest Products Society (1993-1996); Fellow, International Academy of Wood Science (1996 and continuing).